Weekly Roundup

Inspirations of the week:

Jhereck Bischoff Q2’s Music Spaces on NPR Jhereck Bischoff is a young composer, and more importantly, a fascinating human. He grew up on a sailboat, mostly docked off Bainbridge Island. They were all extremely tall people, his family and he, who played inordinately large instruments for such cramped quarters. His father was in the avant-garde band Amra Arma, and named Jhereck after some science fiction character. First listen to this interview on Fresh Air for a good introduction, then when you are totally captivated you can see his sleeping berth on the sailboat he grew up on, and never feel sorry for yourself again for not having the most ideal circumstances to create art in.

Rilla Alexander Without the Doing Dreaming Is Useless  An illustrator on nurturing ideas to fruition and common creative problems. About procrastination. Inspiring.

Rose Petal Jam I don’t know who this Harry Partch is, but this is a most enthusiastic rendering of rose petal jam… ever.

I bought several pounds of rhubarb at the farmer’s market and then got kind of busy and couldn’t deal with it right away. So I was under the gun to make good use and this is what I came up with: Rhubarb Muffins with Almond Streusel from Saveur. This recipe made two dozen, I ate at least twelve of these myself.

Also, Rhubarb Spoonbread from the charming blog autumnmakesanddoes.com. The spoonbread recipe originated with Edna Lewis. Which led me to this video Fried Chicken and Sweet Potato Pie about Ms. Lewis (I am in love) and her friend Scott Peacock. Her relationship with Mr. Peacock is, um, wow, pretty interesting.

All cooking is done to podcasts of these fine radio programs: Snap Judgement, this week’s episode, performance anxiety, something I could tell you a little about, Radio Lab, Fresh Air, who knew Steven King was so down to earth, interesting even, same with Bradley Cooper, and Julianne Moore. I think Teri Gross make these people more than they otherwise would be. Have you ever heard her snort when she laughs? And, This American Life. Ok, and on this On the Media Brooke Gladstone interviews, and surprise, surprise, can’t control Cyndi Lauper. Cyndi Lauper is more than just wacky.

I dyed my hair red. Was always curious about red hair. I’d say it turned out better than I thought. I used Naturcolor that I bought from Super Supplements. I think it’s actually good for your hair (but I know nothing of such matters, really).

This post brought to you by Bookwalter Couplet 2012.

Image

Leave a Reply

